Skip to main content

SCR Honors Recently Retired Physicians

Hospital news | Tuesday, September 16, 2014

A recognition of dedicated service reception was held in honor of seven recently retired St. Claire Regional (SCR) physicians at the Center for Health, Education and Research (CHER) building on Thursday, August 14.

Each retired physician was honored with a plaque featuring a short personal biography. The plaques are displayed just outside the library on the second floor of the hospital on a wall dedicated to retired medical staff.

Maria H. Alboszta, M.D. - Dr. Alboszta joined St. Claire Regional’s Medical Staff in 1994 as a psychiatrist. Her twenty year tenure at St. Claire Regional was the longest stretch of her professional career. Dr. Alboszta, a native of Poland, graduated from the Medical Academy in Warsaw, Poland in 1964 and obtained her Board Certification in Internal Medicine. She practiced inpatient and outpatient medicine in the Praga district of Warsaw until her family left the country in 1977.

Shelley E. Bennett, M.D. - Dr. Bennett began his practice as a general surgeon at Cave Run Surgical Specialists (formerly known as Cave Run Clinic) in 1974. He was influenced to return and work in Morehead by his mentor Dr. Warren Proudfoot. Dr. Bennett earned his medical degree from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in Lexington, KY where he also completed his surgical residency. He went on to become board certified in general surgery and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

Dr. Bennett served as Medical Staff President at St. Claire Regional Medical Center from 1981 to 1984 and 1991 to 1992. He also served as Chairman of Department of Surgery from 1976 to 1977, 1988 to 1989 and 1994 to 1995.

Stephen B. Mitchell, M.D. - Dr Mitchell earned his degree from the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and completed a residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Albany (NY) Medical Center before joining Morehead Medical Specialists (formerly known as the Morehead Clinic). Dr. Mitchell is a Fellow of the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

Dr. Mitchell served as the St. Claire Regional Medical Staff President from 2005 to 2006. In addition, he had a long-standing affiliation with the University of Kentucky as a voluntary and full-time faculty member and served as the OB/GYN course director for the Rural Physician Leadership Program.

Richard Warren Proudfoot, M.D. - Dr. Proudfoot completed his General Surgery specialty at the University of Kentucky and began his practice at Cave Run Surgical Specialists (formerly known as the Cave Run Clinic) in 1985.

Dr. Proudfoot pioneered the transition to minimally invasive surgery and endoscopic procedures: He was the first St. Claire Regional surgeon to perform: laparoscopic cholecystectomy; laparoscopic herniorrhaphy; laparoscopic Nissen fundoplication; ERCP and PEG. Dr. Proudfoot served as the St. Claire Regional Medical Staff president from 1989 to 1990. He also was privileged to mentor and share his interests with resident and students.

Ewell G. Scott, M.D. - Dr. Scott joined the internal medicine practice at Morehead Medical Specialists (formerly known as the Morehead Clinic) in 1972. He completed an internal medicine residency from the University of Virginia Hospital in 1970.

Dr. Scott served as Morehead Medical Specialists President and Medical Director from 1983 to 2003. He served two terms from 1975 to 1976 and 1986 to 1987 as St. Claire Regional Medical Staff President. In addition, he served on the St. Claire Regional Board of Directors as chairman of the medical records committee and the pharmacy & therapeutics committee. Involvement with the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville’s voluntary clinical faculty was also a very important part of his career. Dr. Scott completed his service on the St. Claire Regional Board of Directors in 2012. He co-founded the Kentucky Chapter of Physicians for a National Health Plan and has participated in advocacy of this goal in numerous state-wide events.

Albert “Jonathan” Smith, Jr., M.D. - Dr. Smith served as a nephrologist in Morehead and Eastern Kentucky providing hospital and outpatient services for over 20 years. He completed his residency and a fellowship in internal medicine and nephrology at State University of New York Downstate in Brooklyn, NY.

Dr. Smith came to Morehead to provide vital local dialysis and nephrology services to the area. He was instrumental in establishing a new dialysis center in Hazard, Kentucky and expanding dialysis services in Morehead. Dr. Smith served as St. Claire Regional Medical Staff President from 1995 to 1996.

Kimberly Daniels Williams, M.D. - Dr. Williams came to St. Claire Regional Medical Center in 1987 as a resident on rotation. She retired in 2013 after 25 years on the St. Claire Regional Medical Staff.

Dr. Williams was St. Claire Regional’s first physician administrator and served as an Emergency Physician, Medical Director of Emergency Services and Vice President of Medical Affairs and Special Projects. Dr. Williams was Community-Based Faculty representative to the UK College of Medicine Curriculum Committee and the Medical Director of the Northeast Kentucky Area Health Education Center. She was appointed by the Governor to represent the Kentucky Medical Association on both TeleHealth and e-Health Boards of Directors and the Kentucky Health Information Exchange Coordinating Council.