Home > EDUCATION > Northeast AHEC

Northeast AHEC



The Northeast Area Health Education Center (NEAHEC) strives to enhance access to quality health care by improving the supply and distribution of health care professionals through community and academic educational partnerships.



The Northeast Area Health Education Center (NEAHEC) has been a contributing strength in the region for over 25 years. In 1983, the Northeast AHEC opened its doors in Morehead as the first regional office developed in Kentucky. Currently, it is one of eight regional offices in the state. Today, this grant funded program has a main office in Morehead, KY at St. Claire Regional Medical Center and a satellite office in Ashland, KY at Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital. Each Area Health Education Center is supported by a host institution and is directed by an Advisory Board composed of community leaders and health care practitioners representative of the region.



The Northeast AHEC serves a 17-county region of Northeastern Kentucky. This region, which sits at the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, is in many ways an underserved area of the state. Fourteen of our seventeen counties are designated as Appalachian counties, Medically Underserved Areas (MUA) and/or Medically Underserved Populations (MUP). These counties include: Bath, Boyd, Carter, Clark, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Lawrence, Lewis, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Powell, Robertson and Rowan. The Northeast AHEC borders Ohio and West Virginia and represents an estimated population of 400,000.

Contact us




Northeast Kentucky AHEC
316 West Second Street, Suite 203
Morehead, KY 40351

Telephone: (606) 784-2432
Fax: (606) 784-2767


NE AHEC Staff 


David Gross    Director  dagross@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6468 
Brian Buelterman  Continuing Education Administrator  blbuelterman@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6453
KaSandra Stone  Educational Assistant, Continuing Education  knstone@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6830
Leslie Williams  Educational Assistant, Continuing Education  lkwilliams@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6431
Julie Stephens  Student Services Coordinator  jbstephens@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6470
Lainey Mattox  Educational Assistant, Student Services  lcmattox@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6469
Sue Russell  Educational Assistant, Student Services  sbrussell@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6843
Aaron Lodes  Health Career Education Coordinator  aelodes@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6977
Carlyn Craft  Office Assistant  crcraft@st-claire.org  (606) 783-6506